The art on the verge of extinction.

One of my fondest memories growing up was sitting in my grandparent’s house (affectionately called Nanny + PopPop) and looking through albums of old black and white photographs.  Images told stories of their entire lives- from Cuba in 1918, to Ellis Island in the 20’s, World War II in the 40’s, the Tropicana in Havana in the 50’s, and Pennsylvania in the 60’s. It was a chance to take a peek back in time and imagine what their experiences must have been like.  They are memories I will never forget, and they are images of which I can look at any time I please- as they are hung up in frames or in photo albums.

Yes, photo albums.  Real, tangible, dusty smelling, yellowed and worn photo albums.  They make a creaking sound when you open them and a sticking sound as you turn the page.  Do you youngins know what those are? With the invention of Facebook, Flickr, Shutterfly, and Twitter, the art of photo album making is on the verge of extinction.  Yes I said it.  Extinction.

On the bright side, all these new social networking and online album sites make life a whole lot easier when attempting to share your life with family and friends a thousand miles away.  Unfortunately, these images we take sit backed up on our external hard drives and never make it to a photo printer or into a physical album.  With the way technology has been advancing, I can almost 100% guarantee you that external hard drives, flash drives, mp3 players, and CD-ROM’s will soon become as obsolete as floppy disks and VHS players (There’s a couple more for you tweens to Google).  Now how will you share those special moments with your kids and grandkids?

Now don’t get me wrong, I’m a HUGE fan of online albums.  Heck- I do it religiously! I’m just proposing that perhaps we should take more time to print out our photographs and put them in creaking squeaking albums for our future generations to enjoy. Lets not let the art of album making die!  Thanks to my amazing and creative best friend, my desire to continue album making was renewed when she gave my husband and I our Christmas gift this year.  I can’t even imagine the amount of “woman-hours” that went into the ginormous scrapbook that she delivered! From cover to cover, it is overflowing with pictures from Em + I’s relationship.   All the right photos for all the right moments in our lives.  It is filled with pictures that exude emotions and make you eager to see what’s on the next page. Our scrapbook tells our story and we are excited to keep it going.

It’s gifts like that which we will cherish for the rest of our lives.  The kinds that can be shared through the years with the ones we love.

Image above: Excerpt from our scrapbook.

