>Today I did some last minute Christmas shopping at one of my most favorite kitchen supply stores- Sur la Table. In the instant I started roaming the isles looking at all of the new “French Country” decor and cutlery, I began daydreaming about my future kitchen. And so, I am dedicating this post to all the beautiful French countryside cottages and farmhouses which have inspired my vision of my dream kitchen.

The kitchen I’ve been fantasizing about has been a colaboration of inspiring images and flavors from movies I’ve seen. I think about the old World War I French farmhouse that Lucienne has in the movie Flyboys, the kitchen and home Julia Child owned in France in the movie Julie & Julia, and the World War I Farmhouse that my favorite restaurant, The 94th Aero Squadron, resides in.

Now if only I could get my hands on all those amazing pots, pans, and cooking utensils that Julia Child had back in France!
I dream about the washed and neutral woods, the white dishes, the grey colors, and the bright sunlight coming in through the windows…
 
 
 But I also dream about the hanging pots, stone ovens, gas stovetops, and a crackling fire.
 
 
 How beautiful would this quote be in your kitchen? A French favorite from the book, Le Petit Prince: “On ne voit, bien qu’avec le coeur. L’essentiel est invisible pour les yeux.” Translated to English: “One sees well only with the heart. The essential is invisible to the eyes.” Beautiful.
 
 I dream of glass and porcelain jars filled with the freshest of herbs and spices… lining my countertops and sparkling in the sunlight.

 Herb gardens in mason jars.

I can even smell my most favorite herb in my kitchen- lavender- sitting in bundles of bright purple against the whites and greys of the countertops.

And in my kitchen there will always be hot tea and baguettes or croissants on those worn wooden tables, a large window as a conversation piece, and good company to make life all the more worth living.

C’est la vie

